Lillienne, today you are 40 months old. Which is just a pretentious way of saying you are nearly three and a half.

If someone had asked me when you were born “What do you think your daughter will be like at three and a half years old?”, I would have answered “Everything. She will be everything.” And you are; you are Everything.

You make me feel every single emotion possible, every single day. You are so full of everything, Lillienne, and that is something quite amazing.

You make me laugh like nobody can make me laugh. You obviously got your wonderful sense of humor from me, but you may even be funnier than I am someday. You love to entertain and when you have someone laughing, the smile that spreads on your face is like sunshine. You love making people laugh, and I love this about you. You’re a genuine funny soul and wanting to (mostly) always put a smile on someone’s face is admirable, because there are too many people in this world who like to make people sad.

 

You’re also one of the most sensitive people I know, which worries me sometimes because I don’t want you to be like your mother who always worries and takes everything personally and to heart. I want you to know that you can feel all the feelings in the world but you’re going to have to learn where to sort them. I’ll try to help you with that as best as I can. You’re a wonderful kid and I can see the gears working in your little mind as we discuss things I wish we sometimes didnt have too, and I hope I’m doing a good job of raising a compassionate, respectful, honest, fun loving, sympathetic, and empathetic child, while at the same time helping you form a back bone and confidence. Dont forget, you don’t have to take shit from anyone if it’s particularly smelly.

You’re so full of love, Lily, that I have to wonder how someone so small can be filled with so much love. You love everyone and everything, and I sometimes worry that your little heart is going to shatter when you eventually learn about the harder things in life and how not everything is pink with glitter and and hearts. But for now, you are a remarkable little girl who will not let any of your loved ones leave without at least two hugs and kisses, whether it be your aunties or cousins or a friend of mine or your dads you haven’t seen in months. You love them all and you radiate that.

You’re artistic and particular and very creative. You’re imaginative and thoughtful and skeptical, yet brave. You amaze me with your inner and outer beauty, I couldn’t have dreamed up a more wonderful little girl for me to scoop up and cuddle. I’m so lucky you are mine, that your ours, and I love you with every inch of my being.

Love,
Mom.

 

