Tags

, , , ,

I found this recipe in an “Everyday Food” recipe book but I altered it a bit. Obviously I had to make it WAY MORE AWESOME-ER. Which means switch it up because I forgot to buy some stuff.

In a pan, I roasted:

2 handfuls of baby carrots
2 chopped up leeks (for those of us who have never used leek before [I hadn’t until today, I just always thought they were green onions from outer space] only use the white and light green parts)
5 cloves of smashed then minced garlic
salt, pepper and olive oil.

Toss it all in a roasting pan, roast @ 375 for 45 min.

Bring to boil:
2 cups vegetable stock
1 cup water
Roasted Vegetables you didn’t burn

Once it’s reached boiling simmer for ten minutes.

Then I added this concoction to my blender in 2 different batches. Never fill your blender up more than halfway when dealing with food hotter than the fiery depths of hell.

Once it was all blended and smooth, I added it back to my soup pot with one large can of crushed (seeds removed) tomatoes. Simmer for a few more minutes, garnish with basil if your nose is out of joint (mine is!), and enjoy.

