Tags

, , , ,

Our wedding is coming up in 3 weeks. And guess what comes after the wedding? Our honeymoon. And guess what happens during the honeymoon? TIME TO MAKE A LEGITIMATE BABY!

I have so many feelings surrounding a second child and a second pregnancy. I’ve talked about Lily’s birth before here and here, and I’ll probably talk about c sections and VBACS a whole lot more (lucky you) + (that’s vaginal-birth-after-cesarean for all you peeps who havent been sliced open).

As someone who had a c section, I can tell you first hand; they suck. They really do. I felt it was painful to recover from, and I felt helpless since I was very limited on what I could do/help with once we were able to go home.

We plan on getting busy pregnant in the next few weeks (fingers/fallopian tubes crossed) and I am praying for a VBAC. I’ve been getting my hands on every book I can find that involves c sections and VBACS, and I’ve come across some golden advice I only wish I knew beforehand. Here are just a  few things that are in YOUR power, that may help you avoid an unnecessary c section. And I have to admit, second guessing these points never crossed my mind while I was in the hospital attempting to give birth. I just wanted to the Dr’s to do their thang and give me my baby.  Therefore, knowledge is key to pushing a baby out of your vagina.

1. No Interventions. This means you CAN say no to having your water broken, being induced, having your membranes stripped, having pitocin, an epidural, morphine, etc. None of these things are “natural”, and therefore could possibly delay/prolong labour, and cause fetal distress, which often leads to a c section.

2. EAT AND DRINK during labour (See number 5). Your body needs energy and nourishment to do this amazing job, and if you’re only offered ice chips, how are you supposed to keep up? Eat, my friends.

3. Get the heck up. Refuse to be told to lay down in your bed to labour. OF COURSE labour cant progress as well if you’re laying down. Gravity is working against you if you’re horizontal. You know what? You don’t need a fetal monitor on you the whole time you’re admitted to the hospital. Constant fetal monitoring means laying down, which could slow down labour, which could lead to a section. Get up. Shower. Lean on walls. Go peek at that crazy lady behind curtain number 7. Just please get up.

4. Support. Support is key. Nurses and doctors, for the most part, aren’t there for emotional support. You need a support team, someone who is rooting for you 100% all the way. Your husband, a doula, a midwife, a labour coach, your best friend, your mother, these all make wonderful support persons. Don’t count on the doctors and nurses for emotional support during your labour.

5. Labour for as long as possible at home, where you can drink, eat, walk around, and scream if need be. Guess what? Chances are when you get to the hospital, you’re going to be hooked up to a fetal monitor, told to stay in bed, be given a catheter, and your chances of a section just went up. Stay home as long as possible. Have your labour support person with you, this could mean the world to your birth experience. Don’t rush in to the hospital at the first sign of your contraction.

6. Do your birthin’-a-baby homework.

Sources:

Silent Knife: Cesarean Prevention and Vaginal Birth after Cesarean (VBAC) –Nancy Wainer Cohen

Open Season: A Survival Guide for Natural Childbirth and VBAC in the 90’s by Nancy Wainer Cohen

Business of Being Born (DVD – May 6 2008)

