Tags

, ,

Pork chops and applesauce are SO TWO THOUSAND AND LATE.

We ate pork chops so often growing up that now I find it hard to even look at them without gagging a little bit, and I usually have to muffle the scream in the back of my throat when I smell pork chops cooking. BUT, since I am JUST THAT AWESOME of a girlfriend and because Dustin loves pork chops, I rooted around on Epicurious.com, browsing pork chop recipes and found this little gem. I seriously swooned when I tasted the sauce before I drizzled it over my pork chops. And when I let Lily sample the sauce from the wooden spoon she chimed “MORE SAUCE MORE SAUCE MORE SAUCE” like a true mini-foodie.

Pork Chops with Mustard Sauce

ingredients

4 (3/4-inch-thick) pork chops
3/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
2 tablespoons vegetable oil
1/4 cup finely chopped shallots (1 to 2) – I didn’t have shallots, scallions, chives or red onions so I minced a regular onion. Same shiznit.
2 tablespoons unsalted butter – I used 1 tablespoon of regular butter and 1 tablespoon of my homemade garlic butter.
1/2 cup reduced-sodium chicken broth – For some reason I only had chicken with garlic + herb broth?? It worked.
1/4 cup country-style Dijon mustard
2 tablespoons heavy cream – Again, I didn’t have this ingredient so I used Lily’s 3.25% milk. Hey, at least I didn’t use breast milk.
2 teaspoons fresh lemon juice – I used ReaLemon. Comes in a nifty little yellow plastic ball-shaped bottle. FUN.

preparation

pre heat oven to 325°F.

Heat a pan. Pat pork dry and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Add oil to hot skillet,  brown chops, turning over once, about 8 min total. Transfer to a shallow baking pan, reserving skillet, and bake, uncovered, until cooked through, about 5 minutes. Let stand, loosely covered with foil, 5 minutes.

Meanwhile, pour off fat from skillet, then cook shallots in butter over moderate heat, stirring, until softened, 3 to 5 minutes. Add broth and any juices from baking pan and boil, scraping up any brown bits, 2 minutes. Add mustard and cream and return to a boil, then add lemon juice and simmer until sauce is slightly thickened, about 3 minutes.

I served this up with some whipped garlic potatoes and garlic buns (made with the leftover homemade garlic butter from a few days ago).  And then we all wore our garlic bulb chains to bed and no vampires ever ever ever bothered us ever again. The end.

