jack frost was here. that bastard gets me everytime!

I woke up to frost and the beauty of winter this morning. Up until a few days ago, there has been no snow, no nothing. And when it’s just dirty and cold outside, I find it hard to get into that holiday feeling. But finally, some whiteness, some snow, SOMETHING to remind me that I live in Canada and it’s December, so bust out Frosty and get the decorations up. But..
This year we are passing on the whole decorating the house thing. And by we, I mean me, because I am the one who cuts snowflakes and decorates the tree and nibbles on the soft candy canes in the bottom of the decorations box. I just don’t have the energy to decorate the tree this year. Actually, what i really don’t have is the energy to constantly keep Lillienne away from the tree and the ornaments and the hooks and the lights and everything else. If we were to put a tree up I would never sleep, I would be afraid to blink, and I would be re-decorating said tree every day until I could take the tree down.
I love Christmastime. I love Christmas baking and getting together with friends and family. I love walking around and looking at Christmas lights and hot chocolate and I think I even went on a couple sleigh rides in my life. Sober, even. (??!!)
Some of my favourite memories are of my sister, my mom and I decorating our tree when I was younger, rocking out to Bing Crosby and the Alvin and the Chipmunks Christmas record, and hanging the most the most hated Christmas tree ornament smack dab in the center of the tree. Just to drive my sister wild. Because every day she moved it, and hid it. And every day I would find it, and rehang it in a prime Christmas tree ornament parking space.
Tonight, we’re decorating the tree at my sister’s place.

