I took Lillienne to get her h1n1 vaccination the other day. She was fine, cried for about thirty seconds, then decided that checking out all the other kids running around and having their parents chase them was alot more fun than crying.
I chose to vaccinate my child. I also get my child’s regular recommended vaccinations done.
People are dying from this. Children are getting really sick. Healthy adults are getting sick. This can be prevented- with a vaccine.
Alot of people are not getting vaccinated because:
a) They are scared the vaccine may cause long term side affects. -What about if your child gets sick (and dies)? What if your child/baby catches h1n1, spikes a fever of 108 and gets brain damage? What if they catch H1N1 and die two days later? Because these scenarios are real, and are happening! What if you could have prevented your child from getting sick?
b) They believe it is some type of conspiracy, hoax, or ploy. -Seriously? You think that since the outbreak of a disease that occurred in the spring of 09 that the government has been planning a conspiracy and is putting scary things in the vaccine? Do you think the Government of Canada want children, babies and young adults to get sick and possibly die? Someone said “Population control.” Get fucking real. If they wanted to control the population, they’d make it mandatory for the leeches of society to be immunized first. Not tiny babies and pregnant mamas and healthy children. Someone else mentioned micro-chips being put into your body via vaccination. Stop watching retarded movies. Do you think the Government of Canada can afford do to that? They already have records to track us- it’s called your SIN number.
c) It hasn’t been tested enough, who knows what it can do- Well we know what H1N1 can do- kill. It’s called a pandemic because it hits hard and fast. I’m pretty sure if it was just a regular virus they would do tons of testing with it, like the seasonal flu shot. It’s being produced and released quickly so people do not get really sick and croak. No major side affects have been reported, and the amount of mercury that people are freaking out about? IT’S LESS THAN EATING A CAN OF TUNA.
I find it quite odd that alot of people are so sure that this shot is the wrong choice and all of the paranoia that is going on only makes it worse. We are way too paranoid, people. How is is that people won’t trust this, but they have enough trust to take any other medications they are given, they trust enough that if they had to go to the hospital they would be in good hands. They trust enough to get their child vaccinated with other childhood vaccinations. But when it comes to a pandemic, when it comes to someone offering you a chance to not get sick, people aren’t accepting.
I have not gotten my own h1n1 vaccination yet. It’s not available yet to the reasonably healthy people. The high risk categories right now are children under 10 but over 6 months, pregnant mamas, and people with chronic health conditions. My child falls was in a high risk category, and it’s my responsibility to keep her safe. No, I don’t take her places where I know sick people will be, she’s not in daycare, and I don’t allow sick people to come over. But what if.
And yes, I will be getting the h1n1 shot.
I’ve trusted mr Doctors through my whole life, a healthy pregnancy, a safe delivery of an emergency c-section, through these months of Lillienne’s first year, and I trust them now.

