My childhood best friend was a great little kid named Jen. Friendly, funny, with freckles and a great grin, she adopted me when I moved to a tiny town and started life there. We instantly became inseparable. We spent so much time at one anothers house. We would take trips together, have sleepovers, go everywhere together. Her family became mine, and mine hers. Her mother even called the school to demand we be put in the same eighth grade class when we found out we werent.
Time goes by. When high school started, there was so many new people and new things going on that we had to make room for everyone else. There were new friends and boyfriends and different circles and new classes and our parents couldnt keep us together anymore. We were growing up, moving on, moving up, passing eachother in the hallways, and eventually, she moved to the city.
We lost touch briefly. She travelled, I stayed at home, she sent letters and we swapped birthday cards here and there. We got back in touch and she would visit when she came home.
Jen moved back almost two years ago, and it has been GREAT to have her back here. And our daughters are five days apart, and NO,we didnt plan it as so many people have asked.
I remember saying “Maybe I will be late and your will be early, and they will be born close together!” Indeed, this is what happened.
Our little girls. Tiny beings, not us, but from us. Like us. Jen’s little daughter Sophia, already the ultimate girly girl. Beautiful, feminine, delicate and maybe a bit meek. Lillienne, The bull in the china shop, the rowdy circus clown, the “Look at me Look at me” kid. We took them to a splash park yesterday, and Lillienne was thrilled to sit down right in the cold water, watching the light and shadows and water play over her legs and feet while Sophia watched on, happy to just have her toes dipped in the coldness, her big blue eyes never leaving Jen.
It still give me a little jolt when I see them together. These are our babies, our little girls, and who would have thought, I never would have guessed.
Hopefully, they will grow up together. I hope they will become close, they become friends, and that they keep in touch.

bff!!

